top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Thrift Thoughts

Hey you!

It’s been so long! So happy to be back on the blog sharing some of my thrifting thoughts! There’s no better feeling than to find the exact $40 blouse you saw at a retail store for $5 at a thrift store.

Takes me back to my first thrift experience ten years ago- I found a Forever 21 babydoll dress for $8 and kept inspecting it thinking there was a hole or tear somewhere because the price was too good to be true! Haha, and since then I haven’t been able to stay away from the thrill of the hunt nor do I want to!

Although I’ve shared some thrifting tips with you here and there, I’ve realized that I haven't been as raw or detailed when explaining the process. So here’s an attempt of what thrift shopping is like for me, and what thrift shopping can be like for someone who doesn't thrift shop often.

Every thrift store is different. Your experience will vary depending on the location and store. But most extreme thrift shops have the occasional homeless that walk in looking for deals just like you. So I’ve learned to deal with the smell of a thrift store- Granted everything is gently to extremely used so it definitely won’t smell like Bloomingdales. I’ve learned to ignore the irrelevant garments that are surrounded by the trending pieces that are waiting for me. And lastly, I’ve learned to skim through the aisles fairly quickly as I look for prints and patterns that are hot this season.

When hosting The Salvation Army styling event it hit me: Not everyone can get into that zone I mentioned above. Not everyone will blur out the noise when thrift shopping. So here’s what I recommend if you want to find super affordable trends but don't know where to start!

I’ve listed discount stores/ thrift stores by order: 1 being an average discount store to 7 being an extreme discount store.

1. Tj Maxx

2. Marshall’s

3. Ross

4. DD’s Discount Store

5. Goodwill

6. The Salvation Army

7. Amvets Thrift Store

What I recommend doing BEFORE heading into a thrift store is to do your research or get some inspiration. Ask yourself these questions:

- What am I looking for?

  • What’s trending this season?

  • What colors do I need more of?

  • What fabrics are in this time of year?

  • What would (fav blogger or celebrity) wear?

Once you’ve answered these questions, ask yourself the most important one:

Do I have the TIME and the PATIENCE today?

Thrift shopping is totally worth it when you have grasped the concept and understand why you're there. Besides saving 90% of what you would spend at a retail store- Why else are you there? You need to be open to taking the time to search and be creative with what you come across.

If you find a top that you like but it looks too big, don’t let go of it. Think. Can I work with this?

It’s $10, Will I find this top for $10 anywhere else?

Being open-minded and creative will let you express your style freely. Let go of the looks you see on a mannequin and revamp your image. I hope I’ve inspired you in some way, if you’ve gone thrift shopping and have left feeling discouraged: Try 1-4 from the order listed above! If you’re enjoying the thrift shopping scene, try 5-7. (These stores are in San Diego.) If you have any other questions, head over to my "Contact" section and email me! I'd love to hear from you, thanks for reading!

Photos are screenshots from my IG TV video: National Thrift Day. All outfits are thrift shopped.

Instagram: Karen.Olea


bottom of page